See you next Season!


Stanton’s One-Hitter Gives Fargo Back-to-Back Titles

09/17/2010 9:22 PM -

T.J. Stanton (1-0) surrendered just one hit while striking out 14 T-Bones to propel the Fargo-Moorhead RedHawks (3-0) to a 3-0 victory over Kansas City (0-3) to secure their second straight Northern League title.

Stanton dominated from the beginning, striking out the first eight batters he faced in the contest before Jimmy Mojica grounded out to end the third. Stanton remained perfect until a two-out walk to Gabriel Martinez gave the T-Bones their first baserunner in the fourth. The right-hander took a no-hitter into the sixth inning before Jacob Blackwood doubled with one out to end the bid.

Following the double, Stanton retired the final 10 batters he faced to finish the contest. He allowed just three baserunners in the game, surrendering one hit and one walk while hitting a batter in a 143-pitch effort.

Fargo took a 2-0 lead against Andrew Cruse (1-1, pictured) on a two-run double by Jeremiah Piepkorn in the third, and added their final run on a solo home run by Eric Campbell in the fifth. Cruse went the distance for Kansas City in the loss, surrendering three runs, two earned, on eight hits while striking out 10. He did not walk a batter in the contest while throwing 142 pitches.

Following the contest, Fargo first baseman Jesse Hoorelbeke was named 2010 Northern League Playoff MVP. He finished the playoffs with a .417/.481/.833 line, collecting three home runs and 12 RBI in six games.