Countdown to game time: 05/11/20


Three T-Bones Named to Post-Season All-Star Team

09/30/2010 9:46 AM -

The Northern League has announced its 2010 Post-Season All-Star Team, with three Kansas City T-Bones players named to the squad.

Jacob Blackwood, 25, was selected at second base after finishing one of the best seasons in franchise history. The Platte City native posted a line of .331/.380/.636 while blasting a T-Bones single-season record 31 home runs and driving in 86. He fell just shy of the league’s first Triple Crown since 2000 after finishing first in home runs and RBI, and third in average. He also paced the league in runs (T-82), hits (141), total bases (271), extra-base hits (63) and slugging percentage. Blackwood was named regular-season MVP last week and was a three-time Player of the Week during the season. He capped off the year as Player of the Month in August.

Keanon Simon, 25, was named to the outfield after a stellar Northern League debut. Simon hit .309/.387/.432 while posting career highs in home runs (six) and RBI (41). He finished second in the league in triples (T-six) and stolen bases (31), and tied for third in runs scored (75). He was named Player of the Week for the week ending June 20.

Ray Sadler, 30, was selected as an outfielder as well in his first season of independent baseball. The former major leaguer hit .318/.372/.569 with 23 home runs and 83 RBI while missing just three games for Kansas City. Sadler ended the season tied with Blackwood for the league lead in runs and finished in a tie for second in both total bases (222) and extra-base hits (51). He was also third in RBI and fifth in slugging while posting the eighth-highest league average. Sadler earned Player of the Week honors twice during the campaign.

Kansas City and the Fargo-Moorhead RedHawks paced the league with three selections each. The full roster is as follows:

C – Richard Mercado (JOL)
1B – Jesse Hoorelbeke (FM)
2B – Blackwood (KC)
3B – Eric Campbell (FM)
SS – Travis Brown (SCH)
OF – Simon (KC)
OF – Sadler (KC)
OF – Kevin West (WPG)
DH – Joshua Short (LC)
RHP – Willie Glen (GAR)
LHP – Scott Fogelson (FM)