Countdown to game time: 05/11/20


Northern League Announces Postseason Format

12/12/2007 3:03 PM -

The Northern League has announced its revamped playoff structure new for the 2008 season.  The league will be made up of one six-team division with the top four teams heading to postseason play.  Unlike past seasons there will not be first-half and second-half winners; postseason placement will now be based on teams’ overall records for the entire 96 game season.

“We feel that six teams in one division, not only fighting for playoff spots, but also jockeying for home field advantage throughout the playoffs, will make games exciting and meaningful during the entire 96 game schedule,” said Northern League Director of Baseball Operations Harry Stavrenos.  “We all are looking forward to the new format for the 2008 season.”

The first round of the playoffs will feature the top four finishers in the league.  The regular season winner will be the top seed and will play the fourth-place team as the four seed.  The second and third-place teams will be the two and three seeds respectively and will play.  The top seeds will always have home field advantage in each of the two rounds of the postseason.  Both rounds are comprised of a best-of-five series.

The T-Bones open the 2008 season on the road May 15 in Winnipeg, before the home-opener at CommunityAmerica Ballpark on May 23 against Schaumburg.  First pitch is scheduled for 7:05.  Season tickets are available now by calling the T-Bones box office at (913) 328-5618.